Magic Lab Slot Review: Avalanche Wilds and Ordered Free Spins

Magic Lab™ NetEnt slot artwork

Magic Lab uses scatter pays rather than paylines: eight or more paying symbols anywhere on the 6×5 screen make a win, then those symbols disappear for another Avalanche. A single Wild can remain through those cascades, growing its multiplier by one each time. Free Spins add a scheduled set of effects whose order depends on the number of triggering Scatters. The resulting design is less about a conventional line pattern and more about how a growing Wild and a known bonus sequence interact with an open board.

Magic Lab at a glance

ProviderNetEnt
Genre / themeFantasy
Game typeVideo slot
Reels / grid6 reels × 5 rows
Reference RTP96.1%
Volatility15.43 (catalog scale)
Payout mechanicScatter wins; line count not stated
Maximum win5,999× bet
Release date21 March 2024
Main featuresWins need 8+ symbols and cascade; the sole Wild gains multiplier through Avalanches, while 3–5 Scatters schedule Wild, removal and possible multiplier-doubling effects.

RTP and stake limits can vary by version and market. Check the information screen in the game you open. Maximum win is a ceiling, not an expected result.

One Wild grows through the Avalanche chain

The game has six reels and five rows, with Scatter wins and no line count listed. A win requires at least eight paying symbols regardless of their screen position. Winning symbols vanish and replacements can drop in, continuing the Avalanche sequence while wins remain. The Wild substitutes for paying symbols and gains one multiplier point with each Avalanche. It stays on the reels after contributing to wins, but only one Wild can be present at a time. That restriction makes its growth legible: the multiplier belongs to a single continuing symbol, not a field of independently escalating Wilds. The packet does not specify the Wild’s starting multiplier, so only its one-point increase per Avalanche is stated.

This mechanic connects persistence and escalation. The Wild remains after a win, so it may help form a later combination in the same chain; each Avalanche increases its multiplier by one. The chain ends when no further win is formed, and the source does not state that the multiplier carries into a new main-game spin. It is therefore best understood as within-sequence growth unless the feature description explicitly says otherwise. With eight symbols able to win in any positions, the relevant pattern is the total eligible count, not a left-to-right payline.

Scatter count writes the Free Spins schedule

Three or more Scatters award five Free Spins. Each Scatter in the triggering spin schedules one feature for each Free Spin, in a set order before the reels stop. With three Scatters, the first spin gets Guaranteed Wild and the second and third get Remove Symbol. Four Scatters add a fourth Remove Symbol spin. Five Scatters add a Double Multiplier effect on the fifth spin. Guaranteed Wild places one locked Wild randomly at the bottom of the reels; Remove Symbol excludes one symbol type for the rest of the feature; Double Multiplier doubles the accumulated Wild multiplier when it activates. This is a preset progression, not a random selection on every spin.

The count determines both the number of scheduled effects and which of them appear. Each Scatter adds one feature slot, but only the fifth changes the effect type from Remove Symbol to Double Multiplier. The Wild multiplier continues accumulating through Free Spins, and the scheduled doubling acts on that accumulated value. That interaction makes the fifth-Scatter version qualitatively different, not simply two extra spins: it has an explicit multiplier operation at the end of its five-effect sequence. The source does not state how Free Spins themselves end or whether they can retrigger, so neither a counter reset nor an extension rule is assumed.

Reference configuration

The official catalog lists a 96.10% RTP, volatility 15.43 and maximum payout of 5,999× bet. These figures describe the exact title’s reference record; operator configurations may differ. No maximum-win probability is supplied. The Buy Feature price is recorded as 70× bet, but this review focuses on the ordinary Scatter trigger and does not treat the purchase price as evidence of feature frequency. The available rules precisely describe the scheduled effects, while leaving the Free Spins ending and retrigger conditions unstated.

Strengths and weak points

Strengths

An eight-symbol scatter win is easy to distinguish from line play, and the one-Wild limit keeps multiplier growth focused. Scatter count maps to a documented sequence of bonus effects.

Weaknesses

No starting Wild multiplier or Free Spins ending and retrigger conditions are given, so the bonus’s duration and multiplier ceiling cannot be assessed from these rules.

Our Editor’s View

Magic Lab’s most satisfying rule is its controlled order. A single Wild grows through Avalanches, while the Scatter count scripts the bonus: three starts with a Wild placement and two symbol removals, four adds another removal, and five reserves the final effect for doubling the multiplier. That makes an extra Scatter alter the feature’s structure rather than merely extend an unspecified timer. The principal limitation is missing boundary information: the record does not explain the Free Spins counter, retriggers or the Wild’s initial multiplier. Players who like counting symbols and watching one modifier build through a sequence should find the design easy to follow; readers seeking a complete bonus loop may want more explicit end conditions before judging how long that progression can last. Related review: Magic Crystals’ scatter-win feature.