Great Gold Slot Review: Wild Activator and Free Spins

Great Gold game artwork by Red Tiger

Great Gold uses a familiar fruit-slot frame, then gives its bonus a reel-by-reel completion task. The game has five reels, four rows and up to ten lines. Golden coin scatters on reels one, three and five trigger ten Free Spins. During the bonus, each reel has four bulbs; Wilds landing there light them, and a fully lit reel locks with its Wilds. The feature therefore rewards concentrated Wild arrivals on an individual reel, while a separate random Wild Activator can add four to eight Wilds on a spin.

Great Gold at a glance

ProviderRed Tiger
Genre / themeFruits
Game typeVideo slot
Reels / grid5×4
Reference RTP95.66%
Volatility17.23
Payout mechanicLines; up to 10
Maximum win7,608x the bet
Release date22 September 2022
Main featuresGreat Gold pairs a random Wild Activator with a fixed ten-spin bonus built around lighting reel bulbs to lock Wilds.

RTP and stake limits can vary by version and market. Check the information screen in the game you open. Maximum win is a ceiling, not an expected result.

A compact line game with two Wild routes

The standard record describes a 5×4 game with line wins on up to ten lines. Its feature list distinguishes ordinary reel outcomes from two ways Wilds enter play. The Wild Activator may trigger at random, placing between four and eight Wilds across the reels. The Free Spins trigger is more specific: three golden coin scatters must appear on reels one, three and five. This fixed-position condition is not interchangeable with simply seeing three scatters anywhere.

The listed rules do not detail symbol values or the precise substitution treatment beyond the role of Wilds in the bonus. The most concrete account is therefore structural: a ten-line layout, a random multi-Wild event, and a position-specific scatter combination that opens the feature.

Ten spins and twenty bulb targets

The bonus grants ten spins. Every reel has four lightbulbs, and each Wild that lands during Free Spins lights one bulb on its reel. When all four on a reel are lit, that reel locks with all Wilds, holding the result in place for subsequent bonus spins. Across five reels, the described target is twenty bulbs, though the feature does not guarantee that all of them will be lit.

This creates two different scales of progress. A single Wild contributes to one reel’s four-bulb threshold; completing that threshold locks the reel, while the wider challenge is to complete as many reels as the remaining spins allow. The provider’s description asks whether all twenty bulbs can be lit, but does not state an extra reward for doing so. It also does not specify whether a locked reel can receive further bulb progress. The safe evaluation is about the stated lock effect, not an assumed final jackpot for filling the whole board.

Math, limits and the feature’s trade-off

The standard configuration lists 95.66% RTP, volatility 17.23, a 7,608x maximum payout, 5×4 reels and up to ten lines. The record gives 22 September 2022 as the release date. None of these figures indicates how likely the Wild Activator or a complete set of lit reels may be.

The strength is an easy-to-track bonus objective with an explicit result when a reel reaches four bulbs. The constraint is the tension between a fixed ten-spin allowance and a target spread across twenty bulbs: progress can be uneven, and the source does not describe extra spins or a completion prize. The random Wild Activator also has no stated frequency.

Strengths and weak points

Strengths

Four bulbs create a concrete per-reel milestone, and completing it has a clearly described consequence: the reel locks with its Wilds for the bonus.

Weaknesses

The bonus has ten spins for a twenty-bulb board, with no stated completion reward or Activator frequency to clarify how attainable broad coverage is.

Our Editor’s View

Great Gold may appeal to players who enjoy a conventional line grid paired with a visible collection task. Its Free Spins rule is straightforward to follow: Wilds light bulbs on their own reels, and four lights lock that reel into a Wild state. The rules also make clear that the bonus begins with ten spins and that the full board represents twenty bulbs, so the scope of the challenge is visible from the outset. What remains uncertain is how commonly the Wild supply supports multiple reel locks. With no stated Activator frequency or completion reward, the feature is best understood as a chance-based reel-building task rather than a guaranteed progression.