Book of Darkness Slot Review

Book of Darkness Betsoft slot artwork

Book of Darkness gives its Book symbol two roles, but one important exception keeps those roles from collapsing into one. It acts as a Wild and a Scatter, yet does not act as a Wild for the Huntress and Dark Wizard clash trigger. That qualifying arrangement starts Clash for Power, where the player chooses a hero and paying wins fill a meter. A successful clash leads to ten Shadowform free spins, with different effects for each hero. The game is therefore built around a choice whose consequences are distinct, even though the exact trigger arrangement is only summarized.

Book of Darkness at a glance

ProviderBetsoft
Genre / themeFantasy
Game typeVideo slot
Reels / grid5 reels
Reference RTP96.2%
VolatilityHigh
Payout mechanic10
Release date15 October 2020
Main featuresThe Book is Wild and Scatter except for the Huntress/Dark Wizard clash trigger. A qualifying arrangement starts a hero choice and win meter; winning grants ten Shadowform spins with Huntress's 5× multiplier or Dark Wizard expansion up to five symbols.

RTP and stake limits can vary by version and market. Check the information screen in the game you open. Maximum win is a ceiling, not an expected result.

A symbol with a defined exception

The official listing describes five reels and ten paylines. The Book can substitute as a Wild and also behaves as a Scatter with a payout and free spins. Its exception in the Huntress/Dark Wizard clash trigger is significant: it prevents the symbol’s general substitution role from automatically satisfying the specific arrangement needed to begin Clash for Power. That keeps a clear boundary between ordinary symbol assistance and the feature’s named character combination.

The source does not specify the number or placement of Huntress, Dark Wizard and Book symbols required, or the Scatter threshold for its payout and free spins. Clash is a separate route using all three named elements, but the exact recipe is not supplied.

Clash, meter and hero choice

Once Clash for Power begins, the player picks a hero. The chosen hero’s paying wins fill a meter; winning the clash grants ten free spins in Shadowform. This creates a sequence with a choice followed by progress measured through wins, then a defined free-spin award if the clash is won. The notes do not state the meter target, how many wins are needed, or whether the two heroes have different meter behavior before Shadowform. The ten-spin outcome is stated, but the route’s duration and success conditions are not quantified.

In Shadowform, Huntress adds a 5× win multiplier, while Dark Wizard expands up to five symbols. One changes win value; the other changes symbol coverage. The overview does not say which symbols can expand, how that works with the Book’s Scatter role, or whether either effect guarantees a win.

Configuration and trade-offs

Book of Darkness is dated October 15, 2020. The listed configuration is 96.20% RTP, High volatility, a 38.53% hit rate, five reels and ten paylines. The official page does not disclose a maximum win. The hit rate does not equal the chance of triggering Clash for Power or winning its meter, and RTP does not indicate the result of an individual session. The source summary also leaves the exact clash threshold, meter target, symbol values and detailed Scatter award unspecified.

The hero effects and the Book’s explicit exception create a real distinction. But without a trigger threshold or meter target, a player cannot tell how often either Shadowform path is reached. The page also gives no maximum win.

Strengths and weak points

Strengths

The Book’s Wild role has a specific clash exception, and the two Shadowform heroes produce different effects: a 5× win multiplier or expansion up to five symbols.

Weaknesses

Without an exact clash threshold or meter target, players cannot judge how often a chosen hero reaches Shadowform; the page also omits the Scatter award details, symbol values and maximum win.

Our Editor’s View

Book of Darkness has a useful central distinction: Huntress multiplies wins in Shadowform, while Dark Wizard can expand up to five symbols. The player reaches that ten-spin phase through a clash in which the selected hero’s paying wins fill a meter. Meanwhile, the Book’s Wild and Scatter roles have an explicit exception at the clash trigger, preserving a boundary between ordinary substitution and the feature arrangement. The main limitation is missing detail about thresholds, meter progress and maximum prize, so the choice is clearer than its expected impact. That missing route information is a practical limitation, not merely a missing statistic.